Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» Assorted loot to be divided between the War party
Yesterday at 12:38 pm by Raistlin

» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:27 am by Teramotos

» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

December 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 5 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 5 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Starting a turn with limited actions...

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Starting a turn with limited actions... on Tue May 24, 2011 5:45 pm

If you start you turn with limited actions, then cause the initiating effect to go away, do you get the rest of your actions?

Example #1:
I think the situation Aura is in is a bit different, but hers is that she started her turn immobilized (save ends I believe). If the trap is disabled, is she still immobilized?

Example #2:
If a PC starts their turn dazed, then uses a power to negate the dazed condition, do they get their Minor/Move actions?



Dazed
While a creature is dazed, it doesn’t get its normal complement of actions on its turn; it can take either a standard, a move, or a minor action. The creature can still take free actions, but it can’t take immediate or opportunity actions. It also grants combat advantage and can’t flank.

If you're no longer dazed midpoint in your turn can you take the actions that were denied?

View user profile

2 Re: Starting a turn with limited actions... on Tue May 24, 2011 7:06 pm

So, like all things, I think it depends.
There is one class I can think of where they receive a Save at the start of their turn. Assuming the condition is one that a Save can alleviate, then I would say in this case, the PC would then receive thier full compliment of actions.

In the case of the trap, if it is the trap that is causing immobilization, and then, through the character's initial action the trap is negated, then the PC would no longer be immobilized and could then move.

Did I answer the question?

View user profile

3 Re: Starting a turn with limited actions... on Tue May 24, 2011 10:43 pm

Yup. & yup.

View user profile

4 Re: Starting a turn with limited actions... on Wed May 25, 2011 8:45 am

Teramotos wrote:So, like all things, I think it depends.
There is one class I can think of where they receive a Save at the start of their turn. Assuming the condition is one that a Save can alleviate, then I would say in this case, the PC would then receive thier full compliment of actions.

In the case of the trap, if it is the trap that is causing immobilization, and then, through the character's initial action the trap is negated, then the PC would no longer be immobilized and could then move.

Did I answer the question?

I wasn't sure if that's the case or not.

In the case of the trap...
If the trap is Immobilize (save ends), does it matter if the trap is disarmed?

If a monster used a power and Immobilized (save ends) a PC, then the monster is killed. Is the PC still Immobilized? I believe so...

I think it's the same thing.


As for the other example...
Yes, if the PC can save at the start of their turn, then I don't think there's an issue and they get all of their actions.

What if they're dazed at the start of their turn, then use their standard action to use a power that either grants a new save or removes the condition out right.

Can they now use their Move/Minor actions?

View user profile

5 Re: Starting a turn with limited actions... on Wed May 25, 2011 9:07 am

Dwarmaj wrote:Can they now use their Move/Minor actions?

I'd think so. By the rules, it's still the PC's turn undazed, having only taken a standard action. Some class features let you save at the begining of the turn too I think, same thing imo. Also, it fit the flavor of the shadowy claws...

View user profile

6 Re: Starting a turn with limited actions... on Wed May 25, 2011 9:15 am

Dwarmaj wrote:
If a monster used a power and Immobilized (save ends) a PC, then the monster is killed. Is the PC still Immobilized?

I'd say it'd be flavor dependant. Typically though we go with the rules as spell effects when applicable, but if the power is animated vines entangling you and you kill the plant creature, I'm going to say the vines fall to the floor as it dies. If it's a Vampire that put a mind zap on you, you're still mind zapped until you break it's hold even if he's dust. In this case with shadowy claws, they'd become 'normal', non-physical world affecting shadows again freeing Aura.

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum