Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» July Game(s) - Let's Get on the Schedule
Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:55 pm by Arthur

» Dark Knights Rising Mini - Silk
Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:52 pm by Teramotos

» Attn Plague Pixie - Sample PC
Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:50 pm by Dwarmaj

» Self Defense Class - Saturday 28th July - Hashimoto Party
Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:26 am by Teramotos

» Dark Nights Rising - Post PC's Here
Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:11 am by Ross

» 4e Stargate campaign Hero Forge Figures
Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:18 am by Teramotos

» Stealth Guild Feat
Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:35 am by Teramotos

» Tsunami Throw
Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:52 pm by Teramotos

» Weeding Out the Thieves Guild - Discussion of New Builds - Adventure Feedback
Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:33 pm by Teramotos

July 2018
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Gloom Thief

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Gloom Thief on Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:13 am

Gloom Thief grants invisibility while within 2 of the target. If your move from 2-3 squares away is within an enemies threat, does that provoke an AoO?

Here's the situation...



Blade Gloom Thief'd the badly wounded Vamp, then moved through Ember's square to get N of Vamp by window, moving through Ember's square 2 away, to where he is now, turning visible as he left Ember's square since it's out of range of Gloom Thief. Is this an AoO or not?

Note: Blade's stealth beat the baddies passive perception while invisible

View user profile

2 Re: Gloom Thief on Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:44 am

Ross

avatar
Admin
Sorry, I meant to say I was teleporting.


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

3 Re: Gloom Thief on Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:47 am

That clarifies this action, but the same question at large still lingers...

View user profile

4 Re: Gloom Thief on Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:55 am

Ross

avatar
Admin
I believe when he got 3 squares away he would become visible, then if he left the 3rd square that would provoke an AoO as if I started in that 3rd square.


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

5 Re: Gloom Thief on Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:34 am

Ross wrote:I believe when he got 3 squares away he would become visible, then if he left the 3rd square that would provoke an AoO as if I started in that 3rd square.

I can see it that way. The wording says "as long as within 2", so I can also see it as turning visible as you're leaving square 2, so going into square 3 would provoke. I'm not sure I like the wording...

View user profile

6 Re: Gloom Thief on Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:16 pm

If to make the AoO you must be able to target the enemy and if the creature wanting to make the AoO cannot target the (PC) as the PC is currently invisible and hidden; having a stealth check that beat the (monster's) perception, then I'd say "No", an AoO is not allowed. I agree with the notion that you would become visible as you entered the 3rd square so the PC would still be invisible and hidden when they were two squares away.

Rules Compendium pg 313 Invisible - ...(an invisible creature) doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity...

Rules Compendium pg 246 Opportunity Attack - ...Trigger: An enemy you can SEE (my caps) either leaves a square adjacent to you or uses a ranged...

View user profile

Sponsored content


Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum