Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» Assorted loot to be divided between the War party
Yesterday at 12:38 pm by Raistlin

» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:27 am by Teramotos

» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

December 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Being Dazed mid turn...

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:23 am

If a PC/NPC is dazed during their turn, how should their turn be affected?

Dazed
While a creature is dazed, it doesn’t get its normal complement of actions on its turn; it can take either a standard, a move, or a minor action. The creature can still take free actions, but it can’t take immediate or opportunity actions. It also grants combat advantage and can’t flank.

If a PC took their move action, then a standard (say a charge). But were dazed during the movement portion of the charge, could they complete the charge?

Dazed says that the PC doesn't get its normal complement of actions, but what if those actions were already used?

Should being dazed halt an action in progress?

Thoughts...

View user profile

2 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:27 am

Imo, If it's an interrupt (like LOR), then it happens first, action ends, if it's a reaction, it happens after, complete action.

View user profile

3 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:31 am

An interrupt only tells you when the user of the action gets to do something.

Yes, the NPC gets to use their power before I attack them.

If the action they took stopped my movement, I'd still get my attack.
If the action they took teleported them away, I couldn't attack them, but I could continue my shifting/attacking.

But being dazed does not affect the action I was already taking.

View user profile

4 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:41 am

bradly wrote:
Dwarmaj wrote:I could start my turn dazed and still use SLM to shift 6 and attack several opponants...

Yeah, that's true, but the flavor text of this ability is that you hesitate to deliver the blow as memories flood in...

Even hesitating doesn't mean I stop and loose the rest of my current action.

Without seeing the whole power it is difficult to say, maybe you can send it to Stu (just a thought).

If I was making a MBA would their power prevent the attack or just daze the attacker?

Even if that attack was stopped, I should have been able to continue on and attack my next target.

View user profile

5 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:05 pm

Ross

avatar
Admin
Dazed only allows you to take one action per turn (excluding Free).
If you took a move action and then a standard, and the standard is interrupted by dazed then you lose the rest of your Standard action, since your one action for your turn is your move.
If you got dazed after your standard you would just lose your minor because you already completed your move and standard, and you can't go back in time to lose them.

Brad, that's why I made the power a minor action and not a reactive ability.


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

6 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:53 pm

Ross wrote:Dazed only allows you to take one action per turn (excluding Free).
If you took a move action and then a standard, and the standard is interrupted by dazed then you lose the rest of your Standard action, since your one action for your turn is your move.
If you got dazed after your standard you would just lose your minor because you already completed your move and standard, and you can't go back in time to lose them.

Brad, that's why I made the power a minor action and not a reactive ability.

So if a fighter moved then used his standard to attack an NPC and that NPC had an immediate interrupt that dazed the fighter, the fighter wouldn't be able to attack?

If the fighter was adjacent to the NPC, swung and got dazed, would he still get his attack?


Not sure if it'll come up again, but...

My PC used his standard first, but it was a standard that allowed him to shift and attack multiple times. It sounds like he should be able to continue with his standard attack (even if dazed mid action), then would loose his minor/move actions because he's now dazed. Correct?

View user profile

7 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:15 pm

Ross

avatar
Admin
1. Correct.
2. if the fighter hit, and then got dazed he still got his attack in before being dazed, so yes he would get his attack.

In this case you should have been able to complete your action since it was the only action you took that turn.

As an FYI: I created the power for Brad, but I had it set up as a Minor Action to daze. He changed it to be an Interrupt, which doesn't work as well.


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

8 Re: Being Dazed mid turn... on Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:44 pm

Agree with Ross' position on this matter.

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum