Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:48 pm by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

» Epic item tade in: would a figurine be game breaking?
Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:12 pm by Ross

December 2017

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest


[ View the whole list ]

Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Legal Targets and FoB...

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Legal Targets and FoB... on Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:39 am

Can a monk target the ground or someother object to trigger Flurry of Blows?

It seems to be legal by RAW, but does seem a bit "cheesy".

There are three types of FoB, but they all list the same trigger:

Stone Fist Flurry of Blows
Monk Feature

You lash out at another enemy after your first attack, a casual reminder of your great strength.

At-Will Psionic
Free Action Melee 1

Trigger: You hit with an attack during your turn

Target: One creature
Level 11: One or two creatures
Level 21: Each enemy adjacent to you

Effect: The target takes damage equal to 3 + your Strength modifier. If the target wasn’t targeted by the triggering attack, the damage increases by 2 (4 at 11th level and 6 at 21st level).

Special: You can use this power only once per round.

You just have to hit with an attack, then do automatic damage to an adjacent creature.

Most times you're going to want to attack the target and do flurry damage. But what if the target has super high defenses or you want to do auto damage? This would be similar to a Wizard casting Magic Missile (auto damage wise...).


View user profile

2 Re: Legal Targets and FoB... on Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 am

...seem okay regarding RAW, but it isn't as I think the power was intended. I'm pretty sure the intent was "living" targets, living meaning active enemy targets be they undead, hostile soldiers, attacking monsters etc.

I'd actually allow a monk to attack the ground and then flurry; hey I use a really loud foot stomp as a feint/ distraction during sparring and you'd be surprised how many opponents actually freeze for a split second at the foot stomp.

If this is allowed, I still think the recoil shield's power s/b allowed to work vs melee attacks from more than one square away... Very Happy

View user profile

3 Re: Legal Targets and FoB... on Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:42 am


I thought there was blurb somewhere in one of the books (DMG or PH) that talks about using fake targets as targets.

Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn

Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile

4 Re: Legal Targets and FoB... on Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:46 am

Ross wrote:I thought there was blurb somewhere in one of the books (DMG or PH) that talks about using fake targets as targets.

Concur. I remember discussing this previously, to use a free healing surge if memory serves, and I thought we decided it's NOT allowed.

A 'dead' Vamp counts though. He's still considered an enemy.

View user profile

5 Re: Legal Targets and FoB... on Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:11 am

Posted on the WotC Rules Thread

It looks like it's up to the DM to decide whether the target is "legitimate".

I think a helpless enemy is a "legitimate" target, but not an object (unless the object has special significance to the encounter).

View user profile

Sponsored content

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum