Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:48 pm by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

» Epic item tade in: would a figurine be game breaking?
Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:12 pm by Ross

December 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Is an attack that can be used in place of a Basic Attack the same as a basic attack?

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Could I use these attacks together?

Fighter Attack 1
Wicked Strike
Your weapon might be cumbersome, but it packs quite a punch when it connects.

At-Will Martial, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Requirement: You must be wielding a two-handed weapon.
Target: One creature marked by you
Attack: Strength -2 vs. AC
Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier + Constitution modifier damage.
Level 21: 2[W] + Strength modifier + twice your Constitution modifier damage.
Special: You can use the power in place of a melee basic attack.




Pinning Challenge
Paragon Tier
Prerequisite: 11th level, fighter, Fighter Weapon Talent class feature
Benefit: Whenever you hit a target already marked by you with a two-handed weapon and when using a basic attack, the target is also immobilized until the start of your next turn.


View user profile
pretty sure yes.

View user profile
Normally yes...

Whenever a power or attack type says you can use a basic attack, you can use a power that says it can be used in place of a basic attack.

The problem I see is that the feat you mentioned says:
...and when using a basic attack, the target is also immobilized until the start of your next turn.

You're not using a basic attack. The power states that it can be used in place of a basic attack, but does not make the power a basic attack.

It could go either way...

View user profile

Ross

avatar
Admin
Agree with Ken that it can't be used together.


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude
agree with Ken also. The power can be used instead of a basic attack but that does not turn the power into a basic attack.

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum