Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Yesterday at 8:27 am by Teramotos

» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

» Epic item tade in: would a figurine be game breaking?
Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:12 pm by Ross

December 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 3 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 3 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Dagger/Parry Dagger...

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:10 pm

A Parry Dagger does not have the "Light Thrown" property.

If you have a feat that says you can throw a dagger, can you throw a Parry Dagger if you are proficient with it?

The description of the Parrying Dagger says that it is a dagger...

Electra throws her sai all the time (if you're familiar with the Electra comics/movie)...


Parrying dagger

Superior one-handed melee weapon
Cost: 5 gp
Damage: 1d4
Proficient: +2
Range: -
Weight: 1 lb.

This narrow dagger features a specially designed guard that can deflect attacks. A rogue proficient with the parrying dagger can treat it as a dagger for the purpose of the Rogue Weapon Talent class feature.

Properties:
Off-Hand (An off-hand weapon is light enough that you can hold it and attack effectively with it while holding a weapon in your main hand. You can’t attack with both weapons in the same turn, unless you have a power that lets you do so, but you can attack with either weapon.).
Defensive (A defensive weapon grants you a +1 bonus to AC while you wield the defensive weapon in one hand and wield another melee weapon in your other hand. Wielding more than one defensive weapon does not increase this bonus. To gain this benefit, you need not attack with the defensive weapon, but you must be proficient with it.).

Group:
Light blade (Light blades reward accuracy as much as force. Pinpoint attacks, lunges, and agile defenses are the strong points of these weapons.).

View user profile

2 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:26 pm

They not only nerfed it's throwing, but it's proficiency too...

View user profile

3 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:05 pm

bradly wrote:They not only nerfed it's throwing, but it's proficiency too...

Loosing +1 on proficiency isn't bad since you get +1 bonus to AC.

View user profile

4 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:31 pm

Where sais have a hook for disarming that doesn't affect the aerodynamics for throwing, it sounds like this dagger has some sort of hilt sheild that is more bowl-shaped and not good for throwing.

View user profile

5 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:39 pm

So, are Parrying Daggers subsets of the "Dagger" family of weapons? If a Power, Feat or Item enhances the use of a "Dagger", does that also mean that it enhances a Parrying Dagger? I'm tempted to say "yes" because I'm sure the Powers, Feats, or Items, just say "dagger" or "daggers" and not "excludes parrying daggers", or "only regular daggers". On one hand, there's the text that says for the purposes of Rogue powers, the parry dagger is a dagger, but on the other hand, the fact that Range is a dash "-" indicates strongly that it is not a thrown weapon. But counter to that is that a specific rule superceeds a general one. I'd say that the RAW would allow it, but I don't think that letting powers for thrown daggers apply to parry daggers is within the RAI.

If I had to rule on this, I'd let the power in question apply to parry daggers, but since they have range "-", I would treat them as an improvised thrown weapon.

View user profile

6 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:38 pm

The feat I'm looking at for my monk is:

Starblade Flurry
Paragon Tier
Prerequisite: 11th level, monk, Flurry of Blows class feature
Benefit: When you use your Flurry of Blows power, you can add a single target within 5 squares of you by throwing a dagger or a shuriken that you have in hand. Doing so doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks.

The feat lets you throw a "dagger" and auto hit for Flurry damage and not provoke an AoO.

The Parrying Dagger states that it is a dagger:

This narrow dagger...

View user profile

7 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:06 pm

Ross

avatar
Admin


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

8 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:13 pm

What a silly looking weapon! I think I'd rather have a sturdy stick...

View user profile

9 Re: Dagger/Parry Dagger... on Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:07 am

I believe a Sai is considered a Parrying Dagger.

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum