Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Yesterday at 8:27 am by Teramotos

» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

» Epic item tade in: would a figurine be game breaking?
Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:12 pm by Ross

December 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests :: 1 Bot

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Adding to rolls...

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Adding to rolls... on Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:15 am

I believe that a critical hit can only be triggered on a "natural" roll of the dice.

Normally this is on a "20", but if a weapon, power, or feat gives a character the ability to critical with a wider range, then I believe these also need to be "natural" rolls.

Memory of a Thousand Lifetimes
The dreamlike memories of your previous lives lend insight to aid you.

Encounter
No Action Personal

Trigger: You make an attack roll, a saving throw, a skill check, or an ability check and dislike the result

Effect: You add 1d6 to the triggering roll.


I believe the above power can turn a miss into a hit, but not a non-critical into a critical.

Similarly, if a "natural 1" is rolled on an attack adding to the value wouldn't help and the attack would still miss.

Thoughts...

View user profile

2 Re: Adding to rolls... on Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:25 am

Ross

avatar
Admin
I disagree. Otherwise wouldn't it just say you get a bonus to the result or something like that, rather than specifying it adds to the 'Triggering Roll'?


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

3 Re: Adding to rolls... on Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:57 am

I don't see why it wouldn't crit. otherwise, they'd just call it an unnmaned bonus like other adds.

View user profile

4 Re: Adding to rolls... on Thu Nov 11, 2010 10:39 am

A critical only normally only happens on a natural roll of 20.

Natural 20: If you roll a 20 on the die when making an attack roll, you score a critical hit if your total attack roll is high enough to hit your target’s defense. If your attack roll is too low to score a critical hit, you still hit automatically.

Precision: Some class features and powers allow you to score a critical hit when you roll numbers other than 20 (only a natural 20 is an automatic hit).

Maximum Damage: Rather than roll damage, determine the maximum damage you can roll with your attack. This is your critical damage. (Attacks that don’t deal damage still don’t deal damage on a critical hit.)

Extra Damage: Magic weapons and implements, as well as high crit weapons, can increase the damage you deal when you score a critical hit. If this extra damage is a die roll, it’s not automatically maximum damage; you add the result of the roll.

Adding anything to the roll doesn't change the actual dice roll.

Ability modifiers, feats, and other things are also added to the roll. But only a natural 20 is normally a critical.

View user profile

5 Re: Adding to rolls... on Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:14 pm

From WotC support:

Response (Support Agent) 11/11/2010 12:45 PM
Hello Ken,

Thank you for contacting us. Unfortunately, no. Only a "natural" 20 on the die is considered a critical hit. The random modifier from Memory of a Thousand Lifetimes is just another modifier and does not turn a 19 into a critical hit.

Please let us know if you have further questions!

Take Care and Good Gaming!

We would appreciate your feedback on the service we are providing you. Please click here to fill out a short questionnaire.

To login to your account, or update your question please click here.

Sam
Online Response Crew
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST
Saturday-Sunday 10am-4pm PST / 1pm-7pm EST

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum