Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
August 2017
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 3 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 3 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Would these stack?

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:36 pm

Lightning Field (16th level):
After you hit with a lightning power, until the end of your next turn, each enemy that moves into a square adjacent to you or makes a melee attack against you takes 2d6 + your Dexterity modifier lightning damage.


Spark Slippers
Property: When a creature moves adjacent to you, you can deal lightning damage to that creature equal to your Charisma modifier.


White Lotus Riposte
Benefit: When an enemy you hit with an arcane at-will attack power attacks you before the start of your next turn, that enemy takes damage (of the same type the attack power deals) equal to the ability modifier to the attack power’s damage.


The conditions are a bit different, but Lightning Field seems to do the same thing as both the Spark Slippers and White Lotus Riposte. Would these stack or would only the highest damage apply?

View user profile

2 Re: Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:21 pm

Ross

avatar
Admin
Did you try posting on the WotC and ENworld forums? I can see arguments for both ways.


_________________
CHARACTERS:
Morbius Von Kas - Vryloka/Blackguard [4e-Rainbow Warriors Campaign]
Man'Tis Man'Todea - Thri-Kreen/Berserker [4e-Slave Lords Campaign]
Danilo Rand - Monk/Human [5e-Princes of the Apocalypse Campaign]
Nathan Grey - Ardent (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Walt Dixon - Bladesinger (4e-Terran One Campaign)
Battlefield 4 Soldier: Saturnicus
Diablo III Battletag: Saturnus#1572
Neverwinter: @bobpatrick.com
XBox GamerTag: Drizityn


Kazoo the Kender: "Hmm, I'll take....the Wand of Wonder." The rest of the party regretted giving Kazoo the first treasure pick.
View user profile http://twitter.com/NWGamerDude

3 Re: Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:27 pm

I'm leaning toward letting them stack.

View user profile

4 Re: Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:25 pm

Also, for Lightning Field...

If an enemy moved adjacent and attacked would they take LF damage twice? Once for moving adjacent and once for making an attack?

View user profile

5 Re: Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:53 pm

Concur with Ross & Stu.

Dwarmaj wrote:Also, for Lightning Field...

If an enemy moved adjacent and attacked would they take LF damage twice? Once for moving adjacent and once for making an attack?

I read it as no. If this was the intent, I'd think there'd be a 'and/or' somewhere in the wording.

View user profile

6 Re: Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:14 pm

...agree regarding LF doing damage twice in a round, no, it would not do damage once when the enemy moved adjacent and again with they attacked.

View user profile

7 Re: Would these stack? on Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:09 pm

If the move and attack were all part of the same action then they definitely would only take damage once.

But if they use a move action to get adjacent and then a standard to attack, why not?

Lightning Field (16th level):
After you hit with a lightning power, until the end of your next turn, each enemy that moves into a square adjacent to you or makes a melee attack against you takes 2d6 + your Dexterity modifier lightning damage.

View user profile

8 Re: Would these stack? on Sun Oct 17, 2010 9:34 am

The wording says "each ENEMY <that qualifies>", not each qualifying act. 'Or' suggests either of the two, not each of the two. I'd only allow this once.

View user profile

9 Re: Would these stack? on Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:39 pm

bradly wrote:The wording says "each ENEMY <that qualifies>", not each qualifying act. 'Or' suggests either of the two, not each of the two. I'd only allow this once.

I guess I'm not following your distinction...


The ability says that an enemy takes damage if they move adjacent or attack.

If they moved adjacent one round and attacked on the next I don't think there would be any question they they would take damage for both the move and the attack.

Nothing in the wording of the power says an enemy can take damage only once.

What if the enemy made two attacks? Would it matter if the attacks were with the same power like Twin Strike or if it were two separate actions (standard action attack and possibly an action point attack)?


Power wise it probably should be once per round...

As written, I believe it's for each instance...

View user profile

10 Re: Would these stack? on Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:53 am

I posted on the WotC forum http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75882/26072429/Itempower_stacking_question...

The consensus there is that the ability can be triggered multiple times per round. Any time the trigger occurs, the power activates.

View user profile

11 Re: Would these stack? on Tue Oct 19, 2010 6:22 pm

Got a response from WotC support:


Greetings Ken,

Thanks for the great question. Since Lightning Field says movement or melee attacks if a creature did both they would be hit each time they did either of those.

Thanks and have fun!
We would appreciate your feedback on the service we are providing you. Please click here to fill out a short questionnaire.

To login to your account, or update your question please click here.

Chase
Online Response Crew
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST
Saturday-Sunday 10am-4pm PST / 1pm-7pm EST

View user profile

Sponsored content


View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum