Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» Assorted loot to be divided between the War party
Yesterday at 12:38 pm by Raistlin

» 4.0 Meeting Fri Dec 15th - GAME On!
Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:27 am by Teramotos

» Axis and Allies - Optional Unit Rules
Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:15 am by Teramotos

» Rainbow Warriors Planet Ember - Magic Item Count - Adventure Notes
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:08 pm by Teramotos

» Prophecy of the Rainbow Warriors - Adventure Logs
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 pm by Teramotos

» Game On! 4.0 Meeting Friday Dec 1st Newport Hills
Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:50 am by bradly

» Next 4.0 Meeting Late Nov/ all Dec
Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:17 am by Teramotos

» Stargate...
Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:14 am by Dwarmaj

» Friday, Nov 17th
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:16 am by Teramotos

December 2017

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 4 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 4 Guests


[ View the whole list ]

Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Coup de Grace question...

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Coup de Grace question... on Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:16 pm

To slay the creature outright, does that have to be a single blow, single attack power, or can it be over several rounds of Coup de Grace?

Coup de Grace
Sometimes, you have the opportunity to attack a foe who is completely defenseless. It’s not chivalrous to do so, but it is viciously effective. This action is known as a coup de grace.


Helpless Target:
You can deliver a coup de grace against a helpless enemy adjacent to you. Use any
attack power you could normally use against the enemy, including a basic attack.

You score a critical hit.

Slaying the Target Outright:
If you deal damage greater than or equal to the target’s bloodied value, the target dies.

View user profile

2 Re: Coup de Grace question... on Sun Jun 24, 2012 1:32 pm

My original thought was one blow, but thinking on it more, I think that's just residual ruling from previous editions. Logically, it seems like cumulative damage would make more sense. Then again, not waking up from sleep when wounded does not make sense. If anything, any damage should AT LEAST allow an extra save imo...

View user profile

3 Re: Coup de Grace question... on Sun Jun 24, 2012 4:17 pm

I believe any attack from the power used to CDG would be a critical.

Having it be cumulative would be nice, but I think it's on a per standard action attack. Makes it very difficult to CDR a high level monster since you'd have to do several hundred HP in damage in a single attack. Though I think Aya came pretty close to (or did enough and didn't know it) slaying that one NPC outright.

View user profile

4 Re: Coup de Grace question... on Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:53 pm

In my opinion, it would have to be a single Attack Power (e.g. One Standard Action). If a single attack power allowed several blows, the (critical) damage from all the blows could be added to determine if the bloodied value had been reached for an outright slaying.

View user profile

5 Re: Coup de Grace question... on Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:30 am

I don't remember how much damage I did to the unconcious monster in the second encounter, but I think I did enough to kill it outright. If not it was very close...

View user profile

6 Re: Coup de Grace question... on Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:13 pm

I actually thought the same thing during the game and started to look up the rule and got distracted..."SQUIREL!!!"

View user profile

Sponsored content

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum