Northwest Gamers
Welcome to the Northwest Gamers Forums. Please Login or Register.
Northwest Gamers

Forum for the Northwest Gamers

Latest topics
» July Game(s) - Let's Get on the Schedule
Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:55 pm by Arthur

» Dark Knights Rising Mini - Silk
Wed Jul 18, 2018 4:52 pm by Teramotos

» Attn Plague Pixie - Sample PC
Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:50 pm by Dwarmaj

» Self Defense Class - Saturday 28th July - Hashimoto Party
Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:26 am by Teramotos

» Dark Nights Rising - Post PC's Here
Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:11 am by Ross

» 4e Stargate campaign Hero Forge Figures
Tue Jul 17, 2018 12:18 am by Teramotos

» Stealth Guild Feat
Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:35 am by Teramotos

» Tsunami Throw
Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:52 pm by Teramotos

» Weeding Out the Thieves Guild - Discussion of New Builds - Adventure Feedback
Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:33 pm by Teramotos

July 2018
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Calendar Calendar

Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 56 on Wed May 09, 2012 3:03 pm

You are not connected. Please login or register

Multilple vulnerabilities...

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 4:01 pm

Do vulnerabilities of different types stack?

Vulnerable:

Vulnerable
A creature that is vulnerable to a specified damage type usually takes a specific amount of extra damage when it takes damage of that type, or it suffers a specific effect. For example, a creature that has vulnerable 10 radiant takes 10 extra radiant damage when an attack deals radiant damage to it or when it takes ongoing radiant damage.

Against Combined Damage Types: Vulnerability to a specific damage type applies even when that damage type is combined with another. For example, if you have vulnerable 5 fire, you take 5 extra damage when you take ongoing fire and radiant damage.

Not Cumulative: Vulnerabilities to the same damage type are not cumulative. Only the highest vulnerability applies. For example, if you have vulnerable 5 psychic and then gain vulnerable 10 psychic, you have vulnerable 10 psychic, not vulnerable 15 psychic.

The rule above only goes into vulnerabilities of the same type not stacking.

Ex:
A monster is vulnerable to 5 Fire and 10 Acid.

If an attack does 10 Fire and Acid, do they take an extra 10hp (non-stacking) or 15hp (stacking)?

If the attack was only acid, they'd take +10.
If the attack was only fire, they'd take +5.

Any benefit for attacking with both acid and fire?

View user profile

2 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 5:56 pm

I'll have to look it up, but I think only the highest vulnerability applies. So, if the attack does fire and acid, the monster only takes + 10 for the acid.

View user profile

3 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 6:03 pm

Yep, I was right, Rules Compendium pg 226 - Vulnerabilities are non-cumulative...
If a creature has vulnerabilty 5 psychic and then gains vulnerable 2 to all damage, the creature still has vulnerable 5 psychic, not vulnerable 7 psychic.

I know the example above is not exactly like the original question, but I think it is a strong enough precedence to extrapolate that vulnerabilities to dissimilar damage types do not stack.

View user profile

4 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 6:17 pm

Umm, that's the exact line I already quoted above...

It states that vulnerabilities of the same type don't stack. It doesn't mention vulnerabilities of different types.

To take it the other way, resistances do kinda stack.

A creature with resistant 10 Fire still takes Fire damage if the attack did Fire and Acid. You have to resist both or your restance doesn't count.

Ex:
A monster is resist 5 Fire and 10 Acid.

If I make an attack that does 10 Acid/Cold, then they take all 10 and resist none.


Note:
Now that I think about it vulnerabilities probably shouldn't stack. Just not sure on what rule to point to.

View user profile

5 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 6:39 pm

Here's a thread on WotC Rules discussing the very same thing:
http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75842/27396505/Ongoing_damage,_multiple_damage_types,_and_vulnerability?pg=1

There are people on either side and pretty much say it's a DM descision...

View user profile

6 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 8:18 pm

Hmmm...maybe my browser is old (both here and at the office) but I don't see in your original post where you quoted anything... silent

View user profile

7 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 8:52 pm

It's hidden...

I've been using spoiler tags to condense posts...

In the first post where it says "Vulnerable:" and is yellowish, click on it to expand.

I did this with my PC as well to condense large blocks or to logically separate stuff.

View user profile

8 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 11, 2012 10:19 pm

Okay, I see it now. That's the passage right before the passage I posted.

View user profile

9 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 18, 2012 1:59 pm

Still wasn't 100% sure so I sent a question off to WotC

Question:

Under Vulnerable there is an example of it not stacking for the same damage type. What about different damage types?

Example:
A monster is vulnerable to 10 Radiant and 5 Cold. An attack hits it for 10hp of Randiant&Cold.

Does the monster take 10+10=20hp (higher of the two vulnerabilities) or
Does the monster take 10+10+5=25hp (the attack damage and both vulnerabilites)?

Response:

Hi Ken,

Thanks for contacting us here at Wizards of the Coast Game Support. The monster takes 10+10+5 for the attack damage and both vulnerabilities. This is stated on page 225 of the Rules Compendium which says "Vulnerability to a specific damage type applies even when that damage type is combined with another."

If you need any further help, please feel free to reply to this email or give us a call at the appropriate number for your region listed below.

We would appreciate your feedback on the service we are providing you. Please click here to fill out a short questionnaire.

To login to your account, or update your question please click here.

Dan
Online Response Crew
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Sunday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST

View user profile

10 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Fri May 18, 2012 2:10 pm

okay, I guess they stack then

View user profile

11 Re: Multilple vulnerabilities... on Sat May 19, 2012 9:13 am

Needed to be sure since it could add 5-20+ damage per round...

View user profile

Sponsored content


Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum